The Hustle

Am walking down this alley

Around the bend a fine man

Probably busy,I stare at him as he does his work

So much silence between us

“I want two” that is my order

He does it in such a hurry ,

Maybe he thinks i can leave before he serves me

Poor he…..struggling to make a cent

A wife to feed, rent to pay,children to take to school

I pity him…..

Why am I thinking of him anyway

Maybe am caring much….

Or probably judging from one angle….

Or maybe pretending…..

“Sir am done” I take my two boiled eggs

“How much” ….”40 coins”

I pay and leave in peace

Why should he be here till this late

Is the sacrifice worth the payment!!!!

But then I remember not every sacrifice in life pays…..

One thought on “The Hustle

Leave a Reply

